The Beginning

June of 2015 was probably the hardest time of my life. My dear grandpa Joe passed away and it’s something that still shakes up my family today. I never experienced someone so close get taken away just like that. I’ll never forget, I was on my way to work at 6am and my mom got the phone call that he had stopped breathing. This shook my family to it’s core. For the first time, I saw the strongest people break. I knew that I had to be strong for them , for my aunts, my uncles, my cousins, my mother, father, brother, my sister, and most importantly my Grandma. Seeing these people that I cared about so much just defeated was probably the hardest part. I had no idea what to do or what to say , so I stood there stoic and did everything I could do. I sat and tried to make light of situations and bringing up the good this man did in his life. I hugged, and loved more than I ever had because that’s what was needed of me. I knew this would rock all of our family get togethers and give it an entirely knew dynamic. In that moment, that weak time for everyone…I started to have a new perspective on the world. I knew how limited my time was with my family, how futile the future was, and how quickly anything could change. In this time of family trouble, I did something unexpected… I moved out for the first time. I had the opportunity to move into an apartment at 18 with two of my very close friends. The most difficult thing was telling my mother, who had just lost her father that now, she was going to have to live without her daughter by her side. I expected the tears, the anger, and the dissapointment and it hurt when we argued more than we spoke. I knew, this was the best thing though. I knew once I left it would change yet another perspective I had on life. This opportunity taught me even more about the independance I had to have in my life.

Leave a Reply

